The Official Website
of the Rolex
World Sailor
of the Year Awards
Event Partners

Rolex WSOY Awards 2017 - The Nominees

World Sailing, the international governing body for the sport, and Rolex are delighted to announce a golden line up of nominees for the 2017 Rolex World Sailor of the Year Award.

The Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards is the most prestigious award of recognition in the dynamic sport of sailing. Since the awards inception in 1994, the trophy has proudly accumulated the names of those who have demonstrated unparalleled endurance, performance and accomplishment in sailing.

There can only be one male and one female winner so who will join the list of sailing royalty in 2017?

The names vying for the coveted and prestigious 2017 Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards are:


  • Marit Bouwmeester (NED)
  • Martine Grael and Kahena Kunze (BRA)
  • Sarah-Quita Offringa (ARU)
  • Tara Pacheco (helmed by Fernando Echavarri) (ESP)


  • Glenn Ashby (AUS)
  • Armel Le Cleac'h (FRA)
  • Thomas Coville (FRA)
  • Peter Burling (NZL)

The winners will be announced on Tuesday 7 November 2017 at the World Sailing Awards Ceremony in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico.

The male and female winners will be decided by World Sailing Member National Authorities, attendees on the night, as well as the general public.

Winners will be presented with the unique marble and silver trophy depicting the globe, crowned with five silver spinnakers representing the continents, together with a Rolex timepiece.

© 2021 All Rights Reserved by Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM