The Official Website
of the Rolex
World Sailor
of the Year Awards
Event Partners

ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards1996

The 1996 ISAF World Sailor of the Year Awards were held in Brighton, England, Great Britain on 5 November 1996. The presenters for the evening were World Champion sailors, Sir Peter Blake (NZL) and Sir Robin Knox-Johnson (GBR).

Male Winner - Jochen SCHÜMANN (GER)

Jochen Schümann (GER)In recognition of his In recognition of his Gold Medal in the Soling Class at the 1996 Olympic Regatta Jochen's third Olympic Gold Medal.

Female Winner - Lee Lai SHAN (HKG)

Lee Lai SHAN (HKG)In recognition of her Gold Medal in the Windsurfing discipline at the 1996 Olympic Regatta, claiming the first sailing medal for Hong Kong and the first Gold Medal achieved by Hong Kong in any Olympic Sport.


Sam BREWSTER (GBR)Record of sailing around the world westabout, by a woman, in 247 days, 14 hours, 50 minutes and 45 seconds completing her journey at Ushant on 4 July 1996.


Sally CUTHBERT (GBR)Won the girls double-handed event at the 1996 ISAF World Youth Sailing Championship for a record fourth time, the greatest ever number of wins by a competitor in this Championship.

This breaks the three gold medal record set by Chris Dickson (NZL) in the early 70's.


Steve FOSSETT(USA)The breaking of two speed sailing records a solo crossing of the Pacific Ocean in a time of 20 days, 12 hours, 53 minutes, and a Pacific Ocean East-West record with crew in a time of 19 days, 15 hours, 18 minutes and 9 seconds.

Both passages were made in the 60ft by 50ft trimaran `Lakota'

Torben GRAEL (BRA)

Torben GRAEL (BRA)Gold Medal success with crew Marcelo Ferreira in the Star Class at the 1996 Olympic Regatta.

This result completes a hat trick, as Grael has previously won a Silver Medal in the Soling at the 1984 Olympics and a Bronze Medal in the Star at the 1998 Olympics.

On accepting his nomination, Grael said: "This is a great satisfaction to be included among some of the best in the world in my sport."


Mateusz KUSNIEREWICZ (POL)Gold Medal win in the Finn Class at the 1996 Olympic Regatta.

Kusnierewicz was the youngest sailor in the Olympic Finn fleet by thirteen months and lacked the aid of a stop watch for the last six races.

Kusnierewicz put his Olympic success down to "being relaxed, quite fresh, and having a good feeling."


Hubert RAUDASCHL(AUT)Aged 53, Raudaschl put in a record breaking tenth successive appearance at the 1996 Olympic Regatta, the greatest of any athlete in any sport, and finished 15th in the Star Class.

Raudaschl's first Olympics was as a reserve at the 1960 Olympic Regatta.

Raudaschl has won two silver medals, in the Finn Class at the 1968 Regatta and in the Star Class at the 1980 Regatta.

Kristine ROUG (DEN)

Kristine ROUG (DEN)Gold Medal in the Europe Class at the 1996 Olympic Regatta. Aged 21, Roug is a three-time World Champion, and first competed at the age of 12.

On winning Gold, Roug said: "A lot of people expected me to win this regatta. For me it has been only a dream. I did not expect anything of myself, I thought I would do as well as possible."


Robert SCHEIDT (BRA)Gold Medal success in the Laser Class at the 1996 Olympic Regatta.

A nominee in 1995, Scheidt has been number one on the World Rankings since February 1995. Other top performances in 1996 include 1st - Laser Class World Championship, South Africa

1st - SPA Regatta, Holland.


Jochen SCHÜMANN (GER)Gold Medal success with crew Bernd Jaekel and Thomas Flach in the Soling Class at the 1996 Olympic Regatta.

This third Gold Medal complements Schuemann's Gold in Pusan in 1988 in the Soling Class and Gold in the Finn Class in 1976 in Kingston.

Lee-Lai SHAN (HKG)

Lee-Lai SHAN (HKG) Gold Medal in the women's boards at the 1996 Olympic Regatta.

This was the first medal won by Hong Kong at an Olympic Regatta and the first Gold Medal won by Hong Kong in any Olympic sport. Lee won the regatta through consistent sailing, with her one win saved until the last race.

Theresa ZABELL (ESP)

Theresa ZABELL (ESP)Gold Medal in the Women's 470 Class, with crew Begona Via Dufresne, at the 1996 Olympic Regatta.

Zabell successfully defended her 1992 Gold Medal. Zabell won the first World Sailor of the Year Award in 1994, and speaking on her 1996 nomination said:

"This is a recognition of many years and endless hours working."

© 2022 All Rights Reserved by Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM